Sunday, November 28, 2010

White- White (Maybe Mars, 2009) 兵马司

"White was formed by Shou Wang and Shen Jing in February 2005, and has quickly become one of the most acclaimed outfits in the Beijing new music scene. White’s sound is ever evolving, spiralling outwards from the core stars of noise and minimalism to take in everything from the phase patterns of Steve Reich, the atonal chords of Glenn Branca, Throbbing Gristle’s aggressive electronic shimmer, Neubauten’s rhythmic invention, and the gu zheng masters of Chinese classical music. Their pieces can range from highly organized agglomerations of atonal chords that have an almost rock and roll ferociousness, to a completely anarchic attack of weirdly syncopated drum sounds derived from a chance encounter with old furniture or a dysfunctional machine.
Shou Wang, who plays guitar, organ, toys, analogue pedals, drums, and effects, is a founder member of the Chinese new music movement ‘No Beijing’ and is the guitarist/vocalist for Beijing noise band Carsick Cars. In spite of his extreme youth he is considered by many [to be] at the very heart of the new generation of Chinese avant-garde musicians, in 2006 flying to New York to take part in Glenn Branca’s famous No.13 recording “Hallucination City” for 100 guitarists. In 2005 he formed White No.1, a septet that paid tribute to the early work of Glenn Branca, and White 2J, in which he played keyboards. Finally he and Shen Jing, who had been admirers of each other’s music from afar and who shared the same passion for New York noise and kosmiche rhythms, formed White as an outlet for their more avant garde tendencies.

Shen Jing plays analogue synth, drums, percussion, sampler, vocals, tape manipulation, and effects; she has been deeply immersed in Beijing’s music scene since 1998, participating in the vibrant explosion it has undergone in recent years. Until 2006, she was the drummer in Beijing indie/punk legends Hang On The Box, but since 2003, her work has increasingly demonstrated her own unique form of cosmic industrial noise.

In May 2007 Blixa Bargeld, of Einsturzende Neubaten fame, shipped White off to Berlin to produce their first CD. For months the results have been kept under wraps and subject to whispers but it will finally be released in May 2008 by Bing Ma Si/Maybe Mars. White will tour Europe behind Einsturzende Neubaten in May 2008 as part of the CD release." (Maybe Mars)

These two are a righteous noise/industrial pulsar illuminating the Beijing experimental scene circa now. This, their debut album, already appears to be woefully out-of-print. Big ups to SmallWett from the 320 rip.

Short clip of a 2006 performance at D22 in Beijing:

Opening for Neubauten in Berlin:

Mediafire Download Link: Removed (see comments).

1 Really Real German 0:11
2 Space Decay 5:22
3 Spring House 4:26
4 Conch Crunch 5:09
5 Beijing Beer 0:19
6 Build A Link 5:01
7 Train Song 5:32
8 English School 0:25
9 Roswitha Strunk 3:56
10 Falling Down 3:59
11 47 Rockets (For Wan Hu) 5:45
12 Traffic Report 0:11
13 Bai 3:45


Anonymous said...


Anonymous said...

this cd is available worldwide for just AU$10 postpaid at - if you like it please considering buying it so we can continue to develop new music from china.

nicholab said...

shaun, thanks for the info. i have removed the DL Link, accordingly.

Anonymous said...

Please re-upload the link. What anon. has said is far fetched because many artists have benefited from free downloading... As I for one, download music and see if it's worth buying before I buy it. It's like sampling. And if you really think about it the artist makes little to no money off an album unless they produce and record their own album... Blah blah blah. I just really want to check this album out lol.

owen mroz said...

hey post or email new link. the tenzenmen site is not working. this band is golden!

thankyou nicholab for the great blog.