Saturday, July 31, 2010

(V/A) Tuatara – A Flying Nun Compilation (Strange Weekend, 1985)

"The Dunedin Sound was first showcased overseas on the 1985 compilation album Tuatara...It featured, among others, The Clean, the Verlaines, The Chills, Tall Dwarfs, Sneaky Feelings and The Bats. It made it to America on import and began to wend its way around the country via college radio, fanzines and word of mouth.

Says Nils Bernstein:

"You know how they say about the first Velvet Underground album - it sold terribly, but everyone who bought a copy started a band. It's kind of like that with the Tuatara comp."(Source)

I just love classic Flying Nun. Big thanks to my buddy Adam P. for floating this record my way. 320 vinyl rip by yours truly.

Mediafire Download Link: (V/A) Tuatara – A Flying Nun Compilation (Strange Weekend, 1985)


1. "Fish" – The Clean (2:26)
2. "Coalminer's Song" – The Gordons (5:57)
3. "State to Be in" – Fetus Productions (2:40)
4. "Death And the Maiden" – The Verlaines (4:34)
5. "Looking For the Sun" – Children's Hour (6:06)
6. "Isol" – Marie and the Atom (5:32)
7. "Pink Frost" – The Chills (4:03)
8. "Throwing Stones" – Sneaky Feelings (4:40)
9. "Neck of the Woods" – The Great Unwashed (2:07)
10. "I Go Wild" – The Bats (2:44)
11. "Man With No Desire" – The Expendables (5:15)
12. "The Brain That Wouldn't Die" – Tall Dwarfs


Holly said...

Oh thank you - this is an all time fave and my vinyl has seen much,much better days!

Joseph said...

I bought my CD copy of this while visiting New Zealand around '96 or so. Beautiful comp from one of the greatest u-ground scenes ever.
I also notice that at some point you hailed from around Harrisonburg, VA way. Greetings from another Virginia boy, Winchester in my case.
This blog has quickly become one of my faves, featuring an incredible variety and an obvious love for music. Thanks....

S. Flavius Mercurius said...

Re-up Pleeeease?